• 0

Franck, César: Sonata (arranged for Piano and Flute, urtext)

0 out of 5

323,00 kr

1 i lager (kan restnoteras)


– Urtext edition of Franck’s Violin Sonata in Franz Linden’s version for flute and piano
– With an informative text part on the genesis and reception history of the violin sonata and the version for flute (Ger/Fr/Eng)

Editor: Woodfull-Harris, Douglas
Arranger: Linden, Franz
Instrumentation of the work: Piano, Flute
Language(s) of text: German, English, French
Product format: Performance score, Part, Urtext edition
Instrumentation: Piano, Flute
Binding: Stapled
Pages / Format: XXXI, 44/13 S. – 31,0 x 24,3 cm

César Franck’s Sonata for Piano and Violin is one of the most highly esteemed works in the violin literature, a masterpiece of cyclical form – with its grace and expressiveness it is virtually paradigmatic for the epoch of musical romanticism. The sonata was composed in 1886 and is dedicated to the Belgian violinist and composer Eugène Ysaÿe.

After Franck’s death the publisher of the sonata’s original edition, Julien Hamelle of Paris, supplied not only an additional version for piano and cello authorized by the composer (BA 10917), but other arrangements, including a version for flute prepared by Hamelle’s in-house arranger Franz Linden (ca. 1910).

This Urtext edition for flute and piano is based on Linden’s arrangement, a copy of which was only recently unearthed by the editor, and on the sources of the original Violin Sonata, especially for the piano part. Linden’s version largely adopts the original violin part, with particular violin techniques rendered playable on the flute by means of alternative notes. In this way the sonata’s characteristic qualities, including the highly cantabile solo part, sound perfectly natural on the flute, lending this version its special appeal.

An informative introduction by Gudula Schütz (Ger/Fr/Eng) on the genesis and reception history of the sonata as well as a Critical Commentary (Eng) round off the edition.

Ytterligare information

Vikt0,55 kg


Det finns inga recensioner än.

Bli först med att recensera ”Franck, César: Sonata (arranged for Piano and Flute, urtext)”
Behöver du hjälp med köpet?